A Singular Creation Art Community
promoting and showcasing all types of art and photography

Are there other artists in your family/extended family?

If you want to discuss anything art related this is the place to be.

Moderator: Moderators

Are there other artists in your family/extended family?

Postby Erika Takacs » Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:32 am

Hi All,

I find it interesting that a lot of artists have been exposed to art early through a family member or a close relative.

1. I'd like to know if that's the case with you.
2. If yes, did it make an impact on you becoming an artist?

Hope everyone who reads this takes a few minutes to answer.

In my case my uncle is a wood carver. I spent many summer vacations as a child hanging around his studio. He's a very talented self-taught artist who made a name for himself. I remember one time I carved a bust out of wood with a knife but found it physically challenging and gave up on it. Must have been around 8-10 years old. Back then I thought sculpting was all about wood or stone, too physically demanding for a girl. He did a lot of monumental work and I just liked watching him. I discovered clay much, much later as an adult and I was hooked.

Can't wait to hear your stories! :)

Erika
Erika Takacs

Postby johnwalkeasy » Fri Jun 22, 2007 8:32 pm

No artist in my family that I know of. But have never met or know anything about my father,s side. Come to think of it, don,t know much about my mother,s side either. There,s sure to be an artist in every family somewhere. And I think wood carving is a very good thing for childern to try to do. Now my grandmother did have a way with planting flowers. So that they would grow with differnt colors in a certain way. She had a way with colors. Making colorful rugs and guilts.
Perfection is what drives an artist.
The inability to achieve perfection is what creates a work of art.
John A. Barandon
http://steelbronze.vpweb.com
johnwalkeasy

Blog: View Blog (1)