A Singular Creation Art Community
promoting and showcasing all types of art and photography

Standard Film vs. Digital

If you want to discuss anything art related this is the place to be.

Moderator: Moderators

Standard Film vs. Digital

Postby drawn2art » Fri Jun 02, 2006 10:07 am

Would just like to start a discussion on what type of camera you prefer for taking your photos. For myself I do prefer the standard SLR film camera, but I have found more and more people switching to the digital format of camera. I am wondering if the standard film camera will eventually become obsolete? Should I be thinking of switching to digital myself? What are the pros and cons for both?

Looking forward to reading your thoughts on this issue :D
drawn2art

Postby Singular » Fri Jun 02, 2006 10:39 am

Well I am no expert photographer by any means, but in my humble opinion, there is no substitute for the quality of film. I personally use digital because they are much more convenient and technology is improving so much that the quality of digital images is just about as good as film. I also like the idea that digital images are easily manipulated. I also think that film we be obsolete. Actually, I think that Kodak has already discontinued most of their film cameras in favor of digital.
Singular
Founder

Articles: 28
Gallery: View Gallery
Blog: View Blog (2)

Postby drawn2art » Fri Jun 02, 2006 10:50 am

Thanks for the reply Singular :)
I too am no professional photographer and use my camera for taking photos for references I use in my art. I do like the film but don't like the cost of developing and the wait for the photos. I think film camera's will be fazed out over time as the digital ones get more advanced and hopefully cheaper to buy.
drawn2art

Postby Sean » Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:06 am