A Singular Creation Art Community
promoting and showcasing all types of art and photography

Curious about artists...

If you want to discuss anything art related this is the place to be.

Moderator: Moderators

Curious about artists...

Postby mspiper » Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:30 pm

I'm curious about the way other members work. How many of our painters keep a sketch book and sketch...What kind of formal art instruction you have all had or are you self-taught? Do you sketch and study or just start with a blank canvas? How often do you paint? Do you have several things going at once, or work on one painting at a time? Just curious, and wanting to better organize and get serious about my own art habits! :D
mspiper

Postby kcortese » Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:20 pm

I don't keep a sketch book.

I'm self taught.

I sometimes do a sketch then throw it out, but mostly use a blank canvas and just let it flow.

I work in several different mediums, and paint when the feeling comes over me.

I usually finish one project and move on to the next, but may go back to a previous work to add or change something.

Karen
kcortese

Gallery: View Gallery

Postby johnwalkeasy » Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:16 pm

Mspiper, I think artist work in differnt ways. And those ways would cover the ways you sugjested. And more. Sculptors will tend to work on one piece at a time. Oil Painters could have 2 or 3 going at a time. Because paint has to dry a little before added another layer. If you look into the "Works In Procress section". You will get a good idea of the ways in which the differnt artist work. Training is always a good thing to do. If one has the time and can afford it. But art work is like anything else. One learns by doing. And one will also learn what thier limitations are. What they can become good at. Or not so good at. The good news is they are a lot of outstanding artist on this site. And they are very helpful to other artist. And you will find. They're very nice people.