A Singular Creation Art Community
promoting and showcasing all types of art and photography

critique wanted - what am I missing ?

If you want real feedback on your work and don't mind people telling you their opinions, this is the spot for you.

Moderator: Moderators

critique wanted - what am I missing ?

Postby misspeggyartist » Thu Jan 14, 2016 9:01 pm

Boardwalk 24x24 acrylic
I've self-taught and have been painting for several years and I decided to focus 2015 on only the ideas in my head, instead of
trying to paint what I thought I 'should' paint. I promised myself to do one per month and it worked out
pretty well. These are two paintings I completed. I'm happy with the composition and colors, but I feel like something is
just a little off ? Not enough contrast between lights and darks/not enough depth ? I welcome all critiques.
Hopefully I can upload them correctly this time. The first one is Boardwalk 24x24 acrylic inspired by the
NYC Highline/people watching. The second is Blueberry Sunrise 36x36 acrylic inspired by dreams, sunshine, floaty things,
and roadtrips.
Attachments
Blueberry SUnrise 36x36 acrylic
misspeggyartist

Re: critique wanted - what am I missing ?

Postby CarlOwen » Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:08 pm

While I have no clue what could be going on in your head to produce these works I can identify what is missing by looking at you other work of landscapes and still life paintings. Take any of these two paintings and place it beside any of your other paintings. Look hard and deep enough and you will see the difference. Take a day or two before you ask me what I identified. Happy hunting.
CarlOwen

Gallery: View Gallery

Postby www-ksart-se » Fri Jan 15, 2016 4:56 am

Hello. Like you art. Im no master painter but I think these needs some darks they look a litle flat to me.
www-ksart-se

Postby ehoeveler » Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:59 pm

I'm too emotionally involved with your work at this mo based on those darling penguins you posted earlier...