A Singular Creation Art Community
promoting and showcasing all types of art and photography

Hawaiian Sunset

If you want real feedback on your work and don't mind people telling you their opinions, this is the spot for you.

Moderator: Moderators

Hawaiian Sunset

Postby mikewheeler » Tue Oct 13, 2015 3:31 pm

Not quite done yet because I am not happy with the small waves on the bottom of the piece.

This is my first attempt at a "Monet" style piece with small brush strokes throughout the entire piece. I really enjoyed working on it though, and I learned a lot. Going to apply what I learned in future paintings...

Mike
Attachments
mikewheeler

Gallery: View Gallery

Re: Hawaiian Sunset

Postby ehoeveler » Fri Oct 16, 2015 11:50 pm

Hi, Mike - I'l LOving the blue/yellow water! Not sure about those clouds...just me. Thank You, E
ehoeveler

Postby CarlOwen » Sat Oct 17, 2015 6:39 am

Hi Mike. I agree with Elizabeth. The clouds somehow rob energy from that magnificent water. I think it is both the repetitious cloud patterns and colors. They need to be just as varied as the water shapes.
CarlOwen

Postby mikewheeler » Sat Oct 17, 2015 8:47 am

When I painted this I painted the clouds like they looked in the sky. One reason why I was excited to paint it was because I had never seen clouds form like that. I appreciate the comments but I'm very pleased with how they turned out. I took a picture of the clouds while I was there. I'll share that with you in this post when I can get to it.
mikewheeler

Postby CarlOwen » Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:30 pm